Award-winning independent CD label

The Hills of Dreamland – Elgar Orchestral Songs


This item will be released on 31 August, 2018.
Catalogue No: SOMMCD 271-2
Release Date: 08/31/2018
Number of Discs: 2
Artists: , , , ,
Genre: ,
Liner Notes

 Somm Recordings is delighted to present a revelatory collection of orchestral songs by Sir Edward Elgar (on double slimline selling as a single disc), performed by two of today’s most exciting young singers – mezzo-soprano Kathryn Rudge and baritone Henk Neven – accompanied by the BBC Concert Orchestra conducted by Barry Wordsworth.

The Hills of Dreamland takes its title from a line in Elgar’s well-known setting, beautifully still and beseeching, of Arthur L Salmon’s Pleading.

Historically the least regarded part of Elgar’s output, his songs contain a treasure-trove of vocal gems and here receive performances of insight, imagination and emotional directness. 


 The Op.59 Song Cycle is an exemplary case in point, by turns quietly radiant, touchingly nostalgic and achingly melancholic. Two settings of poems by Elgar’s wife – the richly orchestrated The Wind at Dawn and celebratory The King’s Way (which borrows a tune from his Fourth Pomp and Circumstance March) – show Elgar at his most evocative and ebullient.

Sombre and powerful, The Pipes of Pan boasts colourful imagery and driving rhythmic energy, The River and The Torch wholly Elgarian in their wonderful sonorities.

A first recording of the orchestral version of the marching song Follow the Colours shows Elgar at his most patriotic.

The complete incidental music for a 1901 staging of WB Yeats’ Grania and Diarmid offers a rare opportunity to experience the full gamut of Elgar’s moving and dramatic evocation of a timeless tale of love in the ancient Irish myth.

A Bonus Disc of recordings made under the auspices of the Elgar Society showcases soprano Nathalie de Montmollin and pianist Barry Collett in a collection of piano-accompanied songs. It includes first recordings of the piano version of ‘Winter’ from The Mill Wheel (with its churning left-hand patterns and a text by the composer’s wife) and the world-weary tread of Muleteer’s Serenade, setting words from Cervantes’ Don Quixote.

On This Recording

  1. Orchestral Songs – Song Cycle, Op.59 – Oh, soft was the song
  2. Schubert: Wandrers Nachtlied II, D768, Op96 No 3
  3. Was it some golden star?
  4. Twilight
  5. The Wind at Dawn
  6. The Pipes of Pan
  7. Two Songs, Op.60 – The Torch
  8. The River
  9. Pleading, Op.48
  10. Follow the Colours: Marching Song for Soldiers
  11. The King’s Way
  12. Incidental Music to Grania and Diarmid – Incidental Music
  13. Funeral March
  14. Song: There are seven that pull the thread
  15. Elgar Society Bonus CD – Like to the Damask Rose
  16. The Shepherd’s Song
  17. Dry those fair, those crystal eyes
  18. The Mill Wheel: Winter
  19. Muleteer’s Serenade
  20. As I laye a thynkynge
  21. Queen Mary’s Song
  22. The Torch
  23. The River
  24. In the Dawn
  25. Speak Music